Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Board of Education

Jackson County ISD Board of Education

The Jackson County ISD Board of Education is made up of five members of the Jackson County community. Members are elected to six-year terms by each of the twelve local, public school boards JCISD serves. These individuals are dedicated to education, and committed to making sure each child has the opportunity for success through the board’s planning, policies, oversight and guidance. The board is also responsible for hiring a superintendent, who works closely with administrative staff in setting district goals that measure areas including, but not limited to: student achievement, process development, and service effectiveness.

Elections are held every other year and under strict guidelines outlined in the state law. The JCISD Board meets each month on the third Tuesday of the month at 5pm; unless otherwise posted.  The public is invited and welcome to attend these meetings. Individuals and/or groups may address the Board during the meetings. For further information, contact the superintendent's office at 517-768-5200. Meetings are held at the Kratz Education Center (KEC) at 6700 Browns Lake Road. Members of the public who wish to contact Board members outside of Board meetings are encouraged to write them using the Board members' district email addresses, which are listed below.


Annual Notice of Regular Meetings 2023-24

JCISD Board Meeting Procedures

Meeting Procedures and Public Comment Form

Public Participation

It is our policy to provide reasonable access to the board of education. Virtual participants and persons with an inability to attend an in-person meeting can submit a written comment ahead of time. Those who choose to have their remarks read at open meetings must comply with the following standards as established in JCISD Policy 0167.3, Public Participation:

1. Identify yourself by name and address;
2. Agency/Organization represented;
3. Topic you wish to address;
4. Limited to three (3) minutes of time to read; and
4. No comments will be considered that are repetitive, obscene, and/or constitute a threat.

Public Participation Form

Meet the Board Members



David K. Salsbury, President

1999 - June 30, 2029
Mr. Salsbury is serving his fifth six-year term, having been elected to the ISD Board in 1999. He also formerly served on the East Jackson Community Schools Board.



Erin Slater, Vice President

July 19, 2018 - June 30, 2025
Mrs. Slater was appointed to fill a mid-term vacancy in July 2018, and re-elected to 6-year term in 2019. She is a Jackson native and a graduate of Jackson High School, with two children currently attending Jackson Public Schools. Mrs. Slater is a strong proponent of public education and an active parent leader.



Doug Scott, Treasurer

May 18, 2022 - June 30, 2025
Mr. Doug Scott was appointed to the board in 2022, and elected in 2023 to fill a two-year partial term that expires on June 30, 2025. Mr. Scott is a past member of the East Jackson Board of Education, having served 12 years there, with four of those years as President. Mr. Scott is the Human Resource Manager at Industrial Steel Treating Company in Jackson, and is a current member of the United Way of South Central Michigan. 



Douglas R. Schedeler, Secretary

2003 - June 30, 2029
Appointed to the Board in 2003, Mr. Schedeler has served consecutively since. He currently holds the office of Board Secretary.  He is also a former member of the Columbia School District Board of Education.



Blaine Goodrich, Trustee

July 1, 2021 - June 30, 2027

In addition to spending more than three decades as a teacher and middle school principal, Mr. Goodrich has also held positions overseeing curriculum at both the district and college level. Additionally, Mr. Goodrich has served on several boards at the state, county and local level, and is a current member of the Western School District Board of Education.